Thanks, Pandemic.

Eve Simon
3 min readMar 12, 2021

It’s been a year since COVID-19 shut down the world, and I am better off for it.

Wait wait wait. Before you cancel my introverted ass, call me tone deaf and get your “wtf is wrong with you” trigger finger ready to fly in the comments, just hear me out.

Yes, I am heartbroken for those who have lost people to this pandemic and all the families devastated. Yes, I’m keenly aware of the anxiety & hardship this year has caused & all livelihoods ruined. And yes, I know this might sound pretty Pollyanna to those who have suffered so much.

But I believe we are getting through it.

Between the chaos of homeschooling, shifting work situations, the loss of social contact, lack of honest & empathetic leadership until Jan 20 and the hunt for vaccine appointments, we’re still standing.

And I have a theory about why.

Human connection got us through these most disconnected of times.

I know what you’re going to say next. How can connection happen when we literally have to stay apart? Because humanity always finds a way, even if it’s difficult. And I have proof.

For starters, consider daily FaceTime calls with my physician father. They started March 2020 after he was worried when I got sick with something COVID-ish. Every day he’d virtually check my temperature and symptoms, and every day I’d tell him I loved him. After I recovered, to my surprise we kept doing it. Seven days a week, sometimes just for a few minutes a day, this little digital touch point has made the world of difference.

Next up, Zoom “happy hours”. I know the line of the year has become “oh no, not another Zoom” but seeing the faces of friends has held us together when we thought we were all alone. First it was Thursday gatherings for followers of my Gen X Facebook group. Then MFA grad school buddies every Monday. Then HS classmates every Weds. Then a college theatre buddy “reunion”. Before I knew it, I was “hanging out” with longtime friends more than I could have imagined in Before Times, especially for someone with a disability. Plus how can you beat rocking PJ bottoms while drinking wine?

Lastly was the most unexpected connection of all — shifting up the format of my passion project podcast. Over the summer while looking for new GenX Stories co-hosts, it hit me. After spending hours in Zooms with so many different people, why not bring some of them together (virtually, of course) and see what happens? Shocker — it worked. Even better, watching 3 strangers (who knew me but not each other) become great friends on their own was the cherry on top. Spending Sunday nights recording fun & frank conversations with Lori, Courtney and Chris is what I am most grateful for this year. They may even get to “meet” each other in person. Some day.

Need more things to come out of the pandemic to be thankful for? Here’s my top 9 lessons from a year of being trapped indoors:

9. Zoom meetings are like regular meetings. Just without pants.

8. Coming up with stories about the spies across the street is an entertaining pandemic project. Especially if they turn out to be true.

7. Instead of doomscrolling or watching cable news, West Wing reruns will always de-stress you. Promise.

6. Reach out to people, even if you aren’t sure they will understand. Listening can help more than having solutions.

5. Stay strong & be patient — good will win over bad.

4. While some people won’t care about what you’re going through, others will. And those are the only ones who matter.

3. Tell your friends & family “I love you” every day. Even when it’s hard.

2. If you trust your gut, you will discover your true self in any situation.

and 1. Never forget that any and every kind of connection is always worth finding and fighting for.

--

--

Eve Simon

A right brainer by birth, I speak fluent left-brain & am passionate about solving design challenges. So what can we create together? Evesimoncreative.com